Yes, you can apply for delivery work using a provisional driving licence and a CBT certificate on Deliveroo’s scooter route, Uber Eats’ motorbike or e-moped route, and Just Eat’s scooter or moped route. Your age, machine and learner restrictions still matter, and each platform has its own document requirements.
Can you deliver on a provisional licence and a CBT?
Deliveroo lists a ‘UK/EEA driving licence (or provisional licence and CBT for scooters)’. Uber Eats accepts the front and back of a provisional driving licence together with a CBT certificate for a motorbike or e-moped. Just Eat also says a scooter or moped applicant can provide a provisional driving licence with a CBT certificate.
GOV.UK’s licensing guidance does not mention delivery work or commercial riding. With a provisional licence and CBT, someone aged 17 or over can ride a motorcycle up to 125cc with a power output of up to 11kW. L plates must be displayed.
A provisional motorcycle licence holder cannot carry a pillion passenger or use motorways. CBT is not a test that you pass or fail. When you successfully complete the course, you receive a certificate of completion, sometimes called a DL196, and must pass your full test within two years, take CBT again, or stop riding.
How old do you have to be?
The minimum riding age depends on the machine. Category AM is available from age 16 and covers mopeds with a maximum design speed of 45 km/h (28 mph). From age 17, CBT and provisional entitlement allow you to ride a motorcycle up to 125cc and 11kW.
Being old enough to ride does not automatically make you old enough to join a delivery platform. Deliveroo says applicants must ‘Be over 18’, while Uber Eats requires riders to be ‘at least 18 years old’. The Just Eat courier application documents page confirms its licence and CBT requirement but does not state an age requirement.
What does each platform ask for?
Each platform publishes its own document list. The wording below is taken from the platforms’ own pages, checked on 3 September 2026.
Deliveroo
Deliveroo lists a ‘UK/EEA driving licence (or provisional licence and CBT for scooters)’. Its rider requirements page says applicants must ‘Be over 18’ and lists bicycle, scooter, cargo bicycle and car.
Uber Eats
For a motorbike or e-moped, Uber Eats asks for the ‘front and back of provisional driving licence and CBT certificate’ as an alternative to a full licence. Riders must be ‘at least 18 years old’.
Just Eat
Just Eat says an applicant using a scooter or moped can provide ‘a provisional driving licence if they also provide a Compulsory Basic Training (CBT) certificate’. The courier application documents page, last updated on 3 August 2026, does not state an age requirement.
What can you ride once you have your CBT?
If you are 17 or over, a provisional licence and CBT allow you to ride a motorcycle up to 125cc, with a power output of no more than 11kW. The same limit applies whether you are making deliveries or riding for another reason.
You must use L plates while riding under provisional entitlement. Starting a delivery shift does not remove or change this requirement.
Provisional motorcycle licence holders must not carry a pillion passenger and must not use motorways. These learner restrictions apply during a delivery shift exactly as they do on any other ride.
How long does your CBT last?
CBT is not a test that you pass or fail. When you successfully complete the course, you receive a certificate of completion, sometimes called a DL196.
You must pass your full moped or motorcycle test within two years. Otherwise, you must take CBT again or stop riding, so a rider who plans to keep delivering needs to decide what to do before those two years are up.
What is the route from no licence to your first shift?
- Get a provisional driving licence.
- Choose a machine that fits your age and provisional entitlement.
- Book and successfully complete a CBT course.
- Receive your certificate of completion, sometimes called a DL196, and use L plates when riding.
- Read the document list published by the delivery platform you want to use.
- Upload the documents the platform asks for.
Where can you do your CBT in London and Hertfordshire?
We offer CBT from £205 at seven centres in London and Hertfordshire: Alperton, Croydon, Dagenham, Edgware, Eltham, Hoddesdon and Wimbledon. Courses run seven days a week at most centres.
Anyone who has never sat on a bike can start with our two-hour Introduction to Motorcycling session at £125.
Common questions about CBT and delivery work
Can you deliver on a provisional licence and a CBT?
Yes, you can. Deliveroo, Uber Eats and Just Eat each state that a provisional driving licence can be used with a CBT certificate for the relevant scooter, motorbike, e-moped or moped application route.
How old do you have to be to deliver on a scooter?
For Uber Eats, you must be at least 18; Deliveroo says you must ‘Be over 18’. The Just Eat courier application documents page does not state an age requirement.
How long does a CBT certificate last?
You must pass your full moped or motorcycle test within two years of completing CBT, or take CBT again or stop riding. CBT is not a test that you pass or fail. When you successfully complete the course, you receive a certificate of completion, sometimes called a DL196.
Can you carry a passenger or use motorways while delivering on L plates?
No, you cannot. Provisional licence holders must not carry a pillion passenger, and holders of provisional motorcycle licences must not use motorways. These restrictions apply during a delivery shift exactly as they do on any other ride.
Related reading: How to get a motorbike licence in the UK and Full motorbike licence: what it really costs and how long it takes. See also our TfL delivery rider course page.